Water Filters -
More than you Bargained For
Activated carbon filters often contain charred animal bone as either a component
of or a their main filtration medium. Water filtered through charred animal
bone is not kosher. Many chars are dervied from vegetable sources, such
as coconut shells. It is best to contact the manufacturer of a given filter
product to determine what char they use in their filter. Again, only vegetable
sources should be considered kosher.